I interviewed for an internship with a prominent news corporation last August but ended up only talking about Facebook. When the company called me back to offer me the position, it was too late. Thinking that I had failed the interview, I accepted a different job. And for months, I couldn’t understand why the former would even want to offer me the position. I felt like I was definitely under-qualified, with no previous experience or exposure to journalism.

But now I understand why. Because the future in journalism lies in new media and social networking. I had told the interviewer that I often share news stories with friends on Facebook. Maybe if I told her I had a Twitter account she would have hired me on the spot. Except I didn’t know what Twitter was at the time.

According to an article on CNBC on Feb. 23, social media is now a requirement for journalists. Phil Stott reported that the new director of BBC Global News told his journalist to either “get with the social media program or get out.”

Additionally, Stott quoted the Guardian report saying that “aggregating and curating content with attribution should become part of a BBC journalist’s assignment; and BBC’s journalists have to integrate and listen to feedback for a better understanding of how the audience is relating to the BBC brand.”

I tried, for some time, to resist becoming a slave to another social media outlet. I’ve done AIM, Myspace, Gchat, Facebook, Friendster. Now with the addition of Twitter, I wonder if reporters for these other news organizations find keeping up with their online social life burdensome and overwhelming.

This week I tried to follow BBC’s technology correspondent, Roy Cellan-Jones. He actually does a decent job updating his page with newsworthy tweets daily, and quite frequently throughout the day. He also provides links to his blog keeps up with his online social life by tweeting other reporters. One follower even commented on a mistake Cellan-Jones made on his blog, in which Cellan-Jones quickly fixed and informed this follower, via Twitter. There is no link on his blog on the BBC to retweet what he writes. I would think that would be an option, being that he is blogging about technology.

Cellan-Jones doesn’t stop at tweeting and traditional blogging (if there is such a term). He also does audio blogging. I wonder if there will be a day when another news director requires his journalists to do audio blogging. Or even youtube. Many Washington Post journalists also have a Youtube channel, like Chris Cillizza from The Fix. I wonder if this was one of their job requirements. Maybe for my next job interview I should talk about Twitter and Youtube. Or maybe there will be a new social media website to join by then.

